Matau Records Vinyl Record of the day – "Belfast" by Orbital

Date Posted:14 November 2015 

Matau Records Vinyl Tune of the Day "Belfast" by Orbital

"Belfast" was released as a 7" and 12" vinyl record on FFRR records in 1991. On 12" it was released as part of the EP "III", which feature the tracks "Satan", "LC1" and "Belfast". "Belfast" uses a sample of soprano Emily Van Evera performing "O Euchari" from the Gothic Voices album "A Feather on the Breath of God". The same sample was used by The Beloved on their 12" single "The Sun Rising" released in 1990.

Orbital was an electronic dance music group from the UK made up of brothers Phil and Paul Hartnoll. They released music in the rave, techno and ambient electronic genres. Orbital was formed by the brothers in 1989 and finally split up in 2014 although they also had a hiatus from 2004-2009. Orbital played a big part in the UK's early rave scene and also had commercial success with both their singles and albums. Paul Hartnoll has announced a new band called "8:58" and plans to release a new album in February 2015.

Orbital was a track on Orbitals first studio LP the self-tiled Orbital which was released on vinyl in August 2015.

Studio Albums released on vinyl:

  • Orbital (1991) 2015 rerelease on 180 gram vinyl in stock click here
  • Orbital 2 (1993)
  • Snivilisation (1994)
  • In Sides (1996)
  • The Middle of Nowhere (1999)
  • The Altogether (2001)
  • Octane (OST) (2003)
  • Blue Album (2004)
  • Wonky (2012)

Leave a comment

Comments have to be approved before showing up