Matau Records Vinyl Record of the day – "Night Of The Living Baseheads" by Public Enemy

Date Posted:24 November 2015 

Matau Records Vinyl Tune of the Day - "Night Of The Living Baseheads" by Public Enemy


"Night of the Living Baseheads" was the third single released in 1988 from Public Enemy's second album "It Takes a Nation of Millions to Hold Us Back"

The title is a reference to the film Night of the Living Dead, equating people addicted to crack cocaine with zombies and the song features a vast array of samples including:

  • Excerpt of speech by Khalid Abdul Muhammad (intro)
  • "UFO" by ESG (sirens)
  • "Fame" by David Bowie
  • "The Grunt" by The J.B.'s (horn glissando)
  • "Scorpio" by Dennis Coffey and The Detroit Guitar Band (drums)
  • "Son of Shaft" by Bar-Kays
  • "Funky Man" by Kool & The Gang
  • "Bring the Noise" by Public Enemy (Vocals: "Bass! How low can you go?")
  • "Christmas Rappin'" by Kurtis Blow (Vocals: "Twas the night"/"Hold it now")
  • "Do the Funky Penguin" by Rufus Thomas (drums)
  • "Rock Steady" by Aretha Franklin (Vocals: "Rock!")
  • "I Can't Get Next to You" by The Temptations (Piano hook/Vocals: "Everybody hold it, listen")
  • "Pick Up the Pieces" by Average White Band
  • "You Can Make It If You Try" by Sly & the Family Stone (drums)
  • "I Don't Know What This World Is Coming To" by The Soul Children (Vocals: "Brothers and sisters")
  • "Here We Go" (Live at the Funhouse) by Run-DMC
  • "Sucker M.C.'s (Krush-Groove 1)" by Run-DMC (Drums/Vocals: "Years ago","First come, first serve basis")


From the album It Takes a Nation of Millions to Hold Us Back available on vinyl from our music store Click Here

Public Enemy is a rap group formed in Long Island, New York in 1982, they are known for their politically charged lyrics and have been inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame one of four hip-hop groups the others being Grandmaster Flash and the Furious Five, Run–D.M.C. and The Beastie Boys.

Leave a comment

Comments have to be approved before showing up