Midnight Oil - The Makarrata Project (Vinyl LP)

In Stock

Calculate Shipping

Midnight Oil  - The Makarrata Project (Vinyl LP)

The Makarrata Project is released on 180gsm yellow vinyl.

THE MAKARRATA PROJECT is a themed mini-album of collaborations with Indigenous artists. Midnight Oil will donate its share of any proceeds it receives from this release to organisations which seek to elevate The Uluru Statement From The Heart in particular and Indigenous reconciliation more broadly.

After centuries of struggle for recognition and justice, 2017’s Uluru Statement called for the establishment of a ‘First Nations Voice’ enshrined in the Australian Constitution and the establishment of a ‘Makarrata Commission’ to supervise agreement-making and truth-telling between governments and Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples.

THE MAKARRATA PROJECT was recorded late last year after the band regrouped for a European tour. They entered the studio with about twenty songs of which seven revolved around themes of reconciliation so they decided to record that batch of material separately with a wide range of Indigenous collaborators (the rest of the new recordings are slated for a 2021 release).



1.         First Nation – featuring Jessica Mauboy & Tasman Keith.

2.         Gadigal Land – featuring Dan Sultan, Joel Davison, Kaleena Briggs & Bunna Lawrie.

3.         Change The Date – featuring Gurrumul Yunupingu & Dan Sultan (backing vocals: Leah Flanagan, Kaleena Briggs & Ursula Yovich).

4.         Terror Australia – featuring Alice Skye.


1.         Desert Man, Desert Woman – featuring Frank Yamma.

2.         Wind In My Head – (Makarrata Version) featuring Kev Carmody and Sammy Butcher (backing vocals: Leah Flanagan, Kaleena Briggs & Ursula Yovich.

3.         Uluru Statement From The Heart – read by Pat Anderson, Stan Grant, Adam Goodes, Ursula Yovich and Troy Cassar-Daley / Come On Down – featuring Troy Cassar-Daley.


SKU 19439809971
Brand Sony Music
Shipping Weight 0.4000kg

Be The First To Review This Product!

Help other Matau Records users shop smarter by writing reviews for products you have purchased.

Write a product review

More From This Category